EAC Logo


28th Meeting of the Sectoral Council of Ministers Responsible for EAC Affairs and Planning ongoing in Bujumbura, Burundi

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 12th July 2018: The 28th Meeting of the Sectoral Council of Ministers Responsible for EAC Affairs and Planning (SCMEACP) is currently underway at the Royal Palace Hotel in Bujumbura, Burundi.

Dr. Andrew Musiime, Director in the Uganda’s Ministry of East African Community Affairs is chairing the meeting, while the rapporteur is Mr. Fidele Munyeshyaka, Rwanda’s Charge D’ Affaires in the Republic of Burundi.

The meeting is considering several items including, among others, the status of implementation of previous decisions and directives of the SCMEACP; progress report on the implementation of the EAC Common Market; report of the 5th annual EAC Secretary General’s Forum; a proposal to undertake elaborate Observance of the 20th EAC Anniversary in 2019; and restructuring of the Deputy Secretaries General positions at the EAC Headquarters, as directed by the 19th Summit of the EAC Heads of State.

The 19th Ordinary Summit of the East African Community Heads of State held on 23rd February 2018 at the Speke Resort Munyonyo in Kampala, Uganda, decided that there shall only be two (2) Deputy Secretaries General at the EAC who shall be recruited competitively on rotational basis and directed the Council of Ministers to follow up this matter and fast-track the restructuring process.

The 28th meeting of the Sectoral Council is being held through the session of Senior officials that started on Tuesday 10th and ends in the morning hours on 12th July; the session of Permanent/Principal/Under Secretaries from the afternoon on 12th and ends on 13th July; and the Ministerial session is on Saturday 14th July 2018.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certified


East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org