EAC Logo


37th Meeting of the EAC Council underway in Arusha

East African Community Secretariat, Arusha, Tanzania, 4th May, 2018: 

The 37th Meeting of the East African Community Council of Ministers is currently underway at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The seven-day meeting which kicked off on Wednesday this week started with the Session of Senior Officials which ended on Thursday. The Coordination Committee which brings together the Principal/Permanent Secretaries and Undersecretaries will take place on Friday and Saturday while the Ministerial Session of the meeting will be held from 7th to 8th May, 2018.

Among the items on the agenda of the 37th Meeting of the Council are the Consideration of: the Report of the EAC Audit Commission on the EAC Financial Statements for the Financial Year 2016/2017; Report of the 20th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Legal and Judicial Affairs; Proposed Amendments to the Protocols on the Establishment of the East African Kiswahili Commission, the East African Science and Technology Commission, and the East African Health Research Commission.

The meeting will also consider the Status of Implementation of the EAC Brand Architecture Strategy, and; the Report of the 7th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Interstate Security. 


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org