EAC20Plus logo

40th Meeting of the EAC Council of Ministers underway virtually

……as the 21st Summit of the EAC Heads of State scheduled for 27th February, 2021

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, 23rd February, 2021: The 40th Ordinary Meeting of the East African Community Council of Ministers is currently underway via hybrid (physical and virtual) means.  

The four-day meeting started with the Session of Senior Officials which ends on Tuesday, 23rd February, 2021.T he session of the Coordination Committee (Permanent /Principal/Under Secretaries) is set for Wednesday, 24th February 2021 while the Ministerial Session will take place on Thursday, 25th February, 2021. 

Among the items on the agenda are the consideration of various reports including those on: the Implementation of Previous Decisions of the Council; Office of the Secretary General; Planning and Infrastructure, and; Productive and Social Sectors. 

Other matters to be considered are: Political Matters; Customs and Trade; Finance and Administration Matters; and Reports of other EAC Organs, namely the East African Legislative Assembly and East African Court of Justice. 

The Council is also expected to consider the Proposed Agenda and Programme of the 21st EAC Summit of Heads of State. The Summit is scheduled to take place on Saturday, 27th February, 2021.

The Council of Ministers is the Policy-making Organ of the Community. The Council consists of the Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs and/or Regional Cooperation of each Partner State and such other Ministers of the Partner State as each Partner State shall determine. 

Among its functions, the Council promotes, monitors and keeps under constant review the implementation of the programmes of the Community and ensures the proper functioning of the regional organization. 

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified


East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org