You are here

26th Meeting of the Sectoral Council of Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs and Planning ongoing in Arusha

East African Community Secretariat; Arusha, Tanzania; 22 August 2017:

The 26th Meeting of the Sectoral Council of Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs and Planning (SCMEACP) is currently underway at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The meeting is considering several reports including; the status of implementation of Previous Decisions of the SCMEACP; implementation of the EAC COmmon Market Protocol; Summit directive to appoint a team of experts to draft the constitution of EAC Political Confederation; EAC-COMESA-SADC tripartite arrangement and report of Chiefs of Immigration.

The meeting will also consider progress reports on the elimination of non-tariff barriers; preparations of the 5th EAC Development Strategy (2016/17 - 2020/21); technical working groups information resource centers; EAC Secretariat Quality Management System; integration of the Republic of South Sudan into the Community; Partner States’ budgetary contribution for the financial year 2017/2018 to the EAC; and consolidation of the EAC calendar of activities for the period July - December 2017, among others.

The 26th meeting of the Sectoral Council will be held through the session of Senior Official from 21st to 22nd August; the session of Permanent/Principal Secretaries from 23rd to 24th August; and the Ministerial session is slated for 25th August 2017.

Addressing Senior officials on behalf of the EAC Deputy Secretary General in charge of Finance and Administration, Hon. Jesca Eriyo, Director of Planning at the EAC Secretariat, Mr. Wilberforce Mariki reiterated the critical role of  the Sectoral Council in coordinating the regional integration process and said that as the integration process deepens and widens, rhe Senior officials will be heavily relied on to provide rational strategies on the integration, noting that their pragmatic recommendations and guidance will assist in further advancing the cause of regional integration and development process.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]


About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1