You are here

 Prof. Rugumoyo flags off EAC Election Observer Mission to the 8th August General Elections in Kenya

HoM flagging off the Mission
HoM flagging off the Mission

East African Community Secretariat; Nairobi, Kenya; 05 August 2017:

The East African Community Election Observer Mission to Kenya’s 8th August 2017 General Elections yesterday flagged off by the Head of the Mission (HoM), Hon. Prof. Edward B. Rugumayo in Nairobi, Kenya.

Addressing the Observers and the Media, the HoM commended the people of Kenya for so far conducting themselves with maturity in one of the most vibrant election campaigns the country had ever seen.

“I trust that this level of dignity, level mindedness and peace will be upheld throughout the campaigning period, on Election Day and thereafter,” asserted Prof. Rugumayo, adding that “a transparent and peaceful election will manifest the sovereign of all Kenyans to democratically choose their leaders and guarantee peace, stability and economic growth in the country and the region as a whole”. Prof. Rugumayo commended the EAC Election Observers for the dedication and commitment that they had displayed by agreeing to be part of the mission to observe the General Elections in Kenya.

The Head of the Mission flagged off 60 Observers who will cover 21 counties of the 47 counties in the country. The Mission is to observe that the elections are conducted in a transparent, credible, free and fair environment and are in line with the universally acceptable principles of democracy and good governance. 

The Observers will follow the campaigns; meet election officials, the populace, candidates and other stakeholders up to and beyond Election Day.

The Observer Mission will release a Preliminary Report on 10th August 2017 after the election and the long-term observer team will spend two more weeks after the election to compile the final observation report with recommendations to the various stakeholders in the Kenya electoral system. 

Meanwhile, the Head of the Mission has continued to engage with the various stakeholders during this period. He has met and held discussions with the Chief Justice, David Maraga on the state of preparedness of the Judiciary to the forthcoming General Elections.

The HoM also met the Chair of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Mr. Wafula Chebukati and engaged with the Presidential Candidate Dr. Ekuru Aukot of Thirdway Alliance Kenya (TAK).

The HoM and the EAC Observers received  briefings by the Secretary General of the Jubilee Party, Hon. Rapheal Tuju, and from the Chief Executive Officer of the NASA, Mr. Norman Mayaga.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]


About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1


East African Community
EAC Close, Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac [at]