You are here

East African Community attaches great importance to nurturing democracy

East African Community Secretariat; Arusha, Tanzania; 28 July 2017:

The East African Community attaches great importance to the promotion of democracy which will in turn guarantee political stability in the region.

The Head of the EAC Election Observer Mission (EOM) to Rwanda, former Kenyan Vice President Moody Awori, said that no country could expect to attain economic growth, peace and security without the stamp of legitimacy from its citizens.

“This is why we as a Community are keen on free, fair and transparent elections in all the six Partner States,” said Mr. Awori.

Mr. Awori disclosed that the Community will be deploying a total of 10 teams of EAC Observers to all the Provinces of Rwanda sampling 30 districts to assess the level of preparedness of the elections as well as the polling process.

“The Mission will issue a statement of its preliminary findings on the elections on 6th August, 2017 through a press conference,” said the former VP, adding that the EAC would subsequently release a comprehensive report through its policy organs after the end of the electoral process in Rwanda.

Mr. Awori made the remarks when he formally launched the Mission at a Kigali hotel.

The Rwandan presidential election, which will be held on 4th August, 2017, will be contested by the incumbent president Paul Kagame of the Rwandan Patriotic Front, Frank Habineza of the Democratic Green Party and journalist Philippe Mpayimana who is running as an independent candidate.

The former VP said that in its assessment of the electoral process, the EAC Mission would be guided by the democratic principles and values outlined in the African Charter for Democracy, Elections and Governance, and the EAC Principles for Election Observation and Evaluation.

The EOM comprises 30 short-term observers drawn from the East African Legislative Assembly, national Human Rights Commissions, Electoral Management Bodies, Civil Society, EAC Youth Ambassadors and the Staff of the EAC Secretariat.

The Mission arrived in Kigali on 26th July, 2017 and will remain in the country until 7th August, 2017. It was preceded by a team of election experts from the EAC Partner States who arrived on 16th July, 2017.

The Mission will observe the concluding stages of the election campaigns and engage with various stakeholders as well as observe the voting and counting processes on and after 4th August, 2017.

Also present at the launch were the EAC Deputy Secretary General in charge of Political Federation, Mr. Charles Njoroge, and Ms. Flavia Sarafina, acting Director General at the Ministry of Trade, Industry and East African Affairs, Rwanda.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]


About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1


East African Community
EAC Close, Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac [at]