You are here

The Community mourns Amb. Kiplagat

East African Community Secretariat; Arusha, Tanzania; 14 July 2017:

The Secretary General of the East African Community, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko has conveyed a message of condolence to H.E President Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta, following the untimely death of Amb. Bethuel Kiplagat, a career diplomat and distinguished public servant.

In a condolence message signed on his behalf by Hon. Jesca Eriyo, the Deputy Secretary General in charge of Finance and Administration, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko states that “We mourn the passing of a great son of Kenya and East Africa and a towering figure of our time who has left an indelible imprint on the history of the region through his untiring efforts in peace building”.

“The Community notes with pride that the departed diplomat was also actively involved in the peace talks and negotiations that led to the independence of the Republic of South Sudan, EAC’s newest Partner State”.

The condolence message states that when the EAC Heads of State Summit approved the establishment and functioning of the EAC Panel of Eminent Persons in February 2015 to operationalize the East African Community Conflict Prevention and Management Resolution Mechanism, Amb. Kiplagat was among the first to be appointed to the Panel.

“The main task of the Panel is to advise the Summit, the Council and Secretary General on issues related to the promotion and maintenance of peace, security and stability by conducting preventive diplomacy and peaceful resolution of conflicts in the Community”, Amb. Mfumukeko notes in his condolence letter.

“Together with other EAC Eminent Persons, Amb. Kiplagat undertook preventive diplomacy missions to Burundi through participation in various roundtables dialogues and holding one on one consultation with key Burundi stakeholders”.

“The entire Community and I share with You, the bereaved family, and the Government and people of Kenya, the feelings of great loss at this time of deep sorrow”, concludes the condolence message.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]


About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1