You are here

18th EAC Heads of State set for 20th May 2017, in Dar

East African Community Secretariat; Arusha, Tanzania; 16 May 2017:

The 18th Ordinary East African Community (EAC) Heads of State Summit has been set for the 20th May, 2017, in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

Top on the agenda is the consideration of EU-EAC Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) and Sustainable Financing Mechanism for the Community. The Summit will also consider the status of the EAC Political Federation, the appointment of a Deputy Secretary General from the Tanzania, the appointment of a Judge from South Sudan to the First Instance Division of the East African Court of Justice.

The Summit will also receive a report on the roadmap for the accelerated integration of South Sudan into the EAC, and consider progress report on the implementation framework for the EAC Institutional Review.

Also on the agenda are: a progress report on the verification exercise for the admission of the Republic of Somalia into the EAC; a report on the modalities for promotion of motor vehicle assembly in the region and to reduce the importation of used motor vehicles from outside the Community, and; a report on the review on the textile and leather sector with a view to phasing out importation of used textiles and footwear.

The Summit will consider assenting to Bills passed by the East African Legislative Assembly and will also present awards to the winners of the EAC Students Essay, 2016. The Summit will also declare the transformation of the EAC into a Common Higher Education Area.

The Summit is being preceded by the 34th Extraordinary Meeting of the EAC Council of Ministers that is currently underway at the Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel from today 16th to 18th May, 2017.

Media Alert

All Local and Foreign Journalists intending to cover the 34th Extraordinary Meeting of the EAC Council of Ministers and the 18th Ordinary Summit of the EAC Heads of State are alerted that the Accreditation Process will be done at the Maelezo offices (Tanzania Information Services-TIS) in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.


- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]


About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1

East African Community
EAC Close, Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac [at]