You are here

AfDB Executive Directors vist EAC Secretariat

Group photo opportunity: Delegation of African Development Bank (AfDB) and EAC Officials
Group photo opportunity: Delegation of African Development Bank (AfDB) and EAC Officials

East African Community Secretariat; Arusha, Tanzania; 06 March 2017:

 A delegation of African Development Bank (AfDB) Executive Directors paid a working visit to the EAC Headquarters and held discussions with the Secretary General of the East African Community, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko and other EAC Senior officials.
The purpose of  their visit was to discuss the Bank’s collaboration with the Community since the signing of a cooperation agreement in 1998. The agreement has resulted in the funding of several regional projects by the Bank, mainly in the transport and energy sectors.
In his welcoming remarks, the Secretary General thanked the African Development Bank for being the first bilateral partner way back in 1998 to sign a Cooperation Agreement with the EAC signalling a  commitment to support the developments in the nascent Community then.
He disclosed that on the basis of the Cooperation Agreement, AfDB has not only emerged as the foremost development partner in supporting the integration process in the EAC, but has also supported some of the most transformative projects and programmes in the Community.
“I, therefore, wish to warmly appreciate the current Bank administration under the leadership of Dr. Akinwumi Adesina and all the previous Bank Administrations for the enormous support that has been extended to the Community over time.’’
Amb. Mfumukeko assured the Bank that  EAC is committed to deepening the regional integration process and align well with the Bank’s initiatives that aim to realize an Africa that effectively trades with itself, able to feed her population,  interlinked through efficient infrastructure and services, develops and unleashes its human capacities,  as well as  applies science and technology in its developments among others.
The Secretary General also briefed AfDB Directors on the status of implementation of the project/programmatic which indicates the extensive support that the Bank has availed to the EAC.
Accompanying the Secretary General, the EAC Deputy Secretary General in charge of Finance and Administration, Hon Jesca Eriyo, briefed the AfDB delegation on the major developments taking place in the integration process, notably the status of implementation of the  infrastructure projects going on in the region.
On her part, the leader of delegation from AfDB , Ms. Mmakgoshi E.P. Lekhethe thanked her host for the warm reception and hospitality accorded to them and commended the EAC Secretariat for the enormous work done that has led to important milestones in the integration process.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]


About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1

East African Community
EAC Close, Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac [at]