You are here

 Secretary General to Host Executive Directors from African Development Bank

EAC Secretary General, Amb Liberat Mfumukeko
EAC Secretary General, Amb Liberat Mfumukeko

East African Community Secretariat; Arusha, Tanzania; 01 March 2017:

The Secretary General of the East African Community, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko will host Executive Directors of the African Development Bank (AfDB) on Friday 3rd March, 2017. The high powered delegation will pay a courtesy call on the Secretary General and will consist 10 Executive Directors.

The ADB Mission will be in the United Republic of Tanzania from 28th February to 4th March 2017, as part of the annual agenda of the Board of Directors of the Bank. The agenda requires Executive Directors to undertake consultative missions to evaluate the quality of Bank supported projects in member countries and this year, it was decided that Tanzania and the EAC Secretariat will be visited.

During their mission to Tanzania, the Executive Directors will meet with officials from the Ministry of Finance and other line Ministries, agencies that are recipients of Bank support and execute Bank supported projects. They will also hold consultations with the Governor of the Bank of Tanzania in order to appreciate the macroeconomic and financial sector developments of the country.

Since the Bank works closely with other Development Partners to leverage its resources, the delegation will also hold consultations with Development Finance Institutions, UN agencies and overseas development agencies. In addition, a dialogue with the private sector will be held to enhance the understanding of the Executive Directors on the potential role of the private sector in driving inclusive economic growth and how the Bank can be positioned to catalyze this function.

At the EAC Headquarters, the Executive Directors will discuss the Bank’s collaboration with the Community since the signing of a cooperation agreement in 1998. The agreement has resulted in the funding of several regional projects by the Bank, mainly in the transport and energy sectors.

The following are some of the key projects funded by the Bank over the years:

i) Arusha – Namanga – Athi River road (construction completed in 2012)
ii) Arusha – Holili/Taveta – Voi road (Kenyan side completed, construction on Tanzanian side ongoing)
iii) Malindi – Lunga Lunga / Tanga – Bagamoyo road (studies completed)
iv) Nyakanazi – Manyovu / Rumonge – Bujumbura road (studies ongoing)
v)  Lusahunga – Rusumo / Kayonza – Kigali road (studies ongoing)
vi) Formulation of the EAC Transport Strategy (2012), and
vii) The EAC Railways Master Plan (2009) and EAC Railways Sector Enhancement project (2016). 

It is expected that EAC and the AfDB delegation will review the performance of Bank supported projects and discuss ways of addressing any challenges that may have hindered their smooth implementation.

The two institutions will also discuss the prospects for future collaboration in the existing portfolios and possible expansion of scope of cooperation in other sectors.

- ENDS -

Notes to Editor: 

The African Development Bank was founded in 1964 and has three constituent Institutions namely; The African Development Bank (ADB), The African Development Fund (ADF) and The Nigeria Trust Fund (NTF). Its shareholders comprise 54 African countries (regional member countries) and 27 non-African countries (non-regional member countries). The AfDB mission is to promote sustainable economic growth and reduce poverty in Africa.

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]


About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1

East African Community
EAC Close, Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac [at]