You are here

EAC Secretary General hosts County Commissioners from Machakos, Kenya

East African Community Secretariat; Arusha, Tanzania; 03 December 2016:

The Secretary General of the East African Community, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko hosted over the weekend Machakos County Commissioner, Hon. Matilda Sakwa and 7 Deputy County Commissioners, who paid him a courtesy call in his office at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. Present at the courtesy call were Hon. Justice Aaron Ringera (Republic of Kenya) of the Appellate Division of the East African Court of Justice and Hon. Peter Mathuki, a Member of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Welcoming his guests to the EAC Headquarters, Amb. Mfumukeko commended the Commissioners for the visit saying; “regular interaction with officials from local governments was part of my agenda during the next five years in order to make our integration a people-centred one”.

The Secretary General briefed his guests on the progress being made in the regional integration pillars and emphasized the great potential that the East African region is yet to realize, stating that; “We need to cultivate a sense of confidence and patriotism amongst the citizens within this region. To realize our potential, we need to strengthen our local economies in order for us to have a competitive advantage globally.”

In addition, Amb. Mfumukeko highlighted the key priorities, which he coined, the 5 Ms during his leadership thus; More Food Security, More Employment (job creation for the youth), More Health Care, More Knowledge and Technology, and More Peace and Security, as well as Industrial Development.

On her part, the leader of the delegation, Hon. Matilda Sakwa, commended the Secretary General for his commitment to the regional integration agenda and stated that Machakos County officials were keenly following developments within the Community’s integration pillars. Hon. Sakwa acknowledged that the Commissioners would be Ambassadors of the EAC in their respective capacities at the grass-root level back in Machakos County; Kenya.

At the same occasion, Hon. Peter Mathuki urged the Community to focus on building East Africa for the benefit of the people by Partner States’ channelling their resources and investing within the region.” We should put the interests of the Community first by maintaining and promoting peace and security throughout the region for Partner States to fully integrate”, affirmed the EALA Member.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]


About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1


East African Community
EAC Close, Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac [at]