Secretary General Amb Liberat Mfumukeko receives letter of accreditation from  Norway Ambassador Ms.Elisabeth Jacobsen

Kingdom of Norway accredits envoy to EAC

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, 25th June, 2019: The Kingdom of Norway has today accredited its Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to the United Republic of Tanzania, Ms Elisabeth Jacobsen, to also serve as Ambassador to the East African Community.

H.E. Jacobsen, who was accredited at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania, said that there was a growing interest and knowledge about the EAC, which she noted was setting the stage for closer cooperation. She said that Norway views the Community as an important partner especially in efforts aimed at ensuring peace and security in the region.

Amb Jacobsen commended the EAC Secretariat for the good work that has led to the attainment of several achievements, and assured the Secretary General of her country's commitment to continue supporting the integration process.

She expressed her country's interest towards supporting integration agenda particularly in areas such as peace and security, human rights  and intra-regional trade among the EAC Partner States.

“We consider EAC as an important player in economic and political development in the region and I assure you of our continued support to the integration agenda,” said the envoy.

On his part, EAC Secretary General Amb Liberat Mfumukeko hailed the existing cordial relations between the EAC and Norway. The Secretary General welcomed the continued support from Norway saying it had enabled the Community to achieve its ambitious agenda.

Amb Mfumukeko also shared the steady progress made by the Community in promoting integration through the four pillars as set out in the EAC Treaty, namely the: Customs Union, Common Market, Monetary Union and Political Federation, adding that the achievements attained so far were due to political goodwill among the EAC Heads of State

Present at the accreditation ceremony were the EAC Deputy Secretary General in charge of Productive and Social Sectors, Hon. Christophe Bazivamo, and the Lake Victoria Basin Commission Executive Secretary, Mr. Said Ally Matano.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certifie

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email:  |